fbpx Leadership | Reconstructing Judaism

You are here




Rabbi Deborah Waxman, Ph.D. President
Rabbi Amber Powers Executive Vice President
Elsie R. Stern, Ph.D. Vice President for Academic Affairs
Cyd Weissman Vice President for Innovation and Impact
Tresa Grauer, Ph.D. Vice President for Thriving Communities


Board of Governors


Seth Rosen Chair Larchmont, N.Y.
Susan Beckerman Vice Chair New York City
Susan Levine Vice Chair Sonoma, Calif.
Howard Kerbel Secretary Upper Montclair, N.J.
Eric Rosenbaum Treasurer New York City
David Roberts Chair Emeritus St. Louis
Don Shapiro Chair Emeritus Naples, Fla.


Ex Officio

Fred Andes Chicago, Il. Lay Chair, Joint Israel Commission
Edwin Baum New York City Chair of the Plenum
Carmen Corrales Maplewood, N.J. Lay Chair, Jews of Color and Allies Advisory Committee
Rabbi Vivie Mayer Elkins Park, Pa. Faculty Representative
Shahanna McKinney-Baldon Madison, Wisc. Lay Chair, Tikkun Olam Commission
Michael Mitchell Toronto Chair, Movement Growth and Financial Health Commission
Marc Overbeck Salem, Ore. Plenum Steering Committee Representative
Mark Pinsky Philadelphia Plenum Steering Committee Representative
Rabbi Amber Powers Abington, Pa. Executive Vice President
Rabbi Isaac Saposnik Philadelphia Executive Director, Havaya Summer Programs
Judith Spatz Davie, Fla. Representative, Jewish Reconstructionist Camping Corporation
Elsie Stern, Ph.D. Philadelphia Vice President for Academic Affairs
Rabbi Elliott Tepperman Montclair, N.J. President, Reconstructionist Rabbinical Association
Rabbi Deborah Waxman, Ph.D. Elkins Park, Pa. President
Mikey Hess Webber Philadelphia Student Representative
Rabbi Elyse Wechterman Abington, Pa. Executive Director, Reconstructionist Rabbinical Association


Members of the Board of Governors

Edwin Baum New York City
Howard Blitman Scarsdale, N.Y.
Rabbi Fredi Cooper Wyndmoor, Pa.
Barbara Dolgin New York City
William H. Fern, Ph.D. Westport, Conn.
William Halpern Darnestown, Md. 
Karen Kolodny New York City
Rabbi David Kominsky Plattsburgh, N.Y.
Herbert Krasnow White Plains, N.Y.
Rabbi Jessica Lott Chicago
Michael Lurey Pacific Palisades, Calif.
Jonathan Markowitz Evanston, Ill.
Mark Nussbaum La Jolla, Calif.
David Piver Newtown Square. Pa.
Rabbi Steven Carr Reuben, Ph.D. Pacific Palisades, Calif.
John Riehl Laurel, Md.
Miriam Roland Montreal
Arkady Serebryannik Irvine, Calif.
David Sigman New York City
Rabbi Avi Winokur Haddonfield, N.J.
Rabbi Lina Zerbarini Lynbrook, N.Y.


Honorary Governors

Daniel Levin Chicago
Myrna Sigman Edwards, Colo.
Aaron Ziegelman New York City


Past Presidents

Rabbi Dan Ehrenkrantz, ‘89 President, 2002-2013
Rabbi David A. Teutsch, Ph.D. President, 1993-2002
Rabbi Arthur Green, Ph.D. President, 1987-1993
Rabbi Ira Silverman, z”l President, 1981-1986
Rabbi Ira Eisenstein, Ph.D., z”l College Founder and President, 1968-1981


Share your perspective on Reconstructing Judaism!

Take 5-10 minutes to help shape the organization’s future.

We have embarked on a strategic planning process to envision the near-term future of the organization. To inform that process, we want to understand our constituents’ needs in these tumultuous times, so we’re reaching out to you.

If you have any questions, you can contact our strategic partners and survey administrators, Third Plateau, by reaching out to Sarah Edwards at sarah@thirdplateau.com.